Grahame Smith

placeholder image

In December 2020, Grahame Smith was appointed by Jamie Hepburn MSP, the then Minister for Business, Fair Work and Skills, and Frank Mitchell, the Chair of Skills Development Scotland (SDS), to Chair of the Programme Board of the Careers Service Review.

Grahame is the former General Secretary of the Scottish TUC. He is a Graduate of Strathclyde University, where he obtained an Honours Degree in Economics and Industrial Relations. Currently, Grahame serves as a Non-Executive Director of SDS and of the Scottish Qualifications Authority.

Grahame has served on a number of Boards/bodies in the field of skills and economic development. He served for 10 years as a Commissioner on the UK Commission on Employment and Skills. Having served as a member of the Sir Ian Wood’s Commission on Developing Scotland’s Young Workforce, he was actively involved in the implementation of the Commission’s recommendations through his membership of the DYW National Group.

He served for 9 years as a member of the Board of Scottish Enterprise. He was a member of the Enterprise and Skills Strategic Board from its inception until its abolition in June 2022. He has also served as a member and as co-Chair of the Fair Work Convention. He is a former Board member of Investors in People.

Grahame is a former Chairperson of Scotland Europa; a former member of the UK Government’s MER Oil and Gas Forum; and of the Scottish Oil and Gas Energy Transition Strategic Leadership Group. He was also a member of the Infrastructure Commission Scotland.

Following the 2016 EU Referendum, Grahame was appointed by the First Minister to serve on the Standing Council on Europe which advised the Scottish Government on Brexit and maintaining Scotland’s relationship with the EU.

In November 2015, Grahame received an honorary degree of Doctor of the University from the University of Strathclyde in recognition of his achievements in the field of industrial relations, economic policy and his work in knowledge exchange.

He was awarded a CBE in the 2021 New Years Honours List.

Grahame Smith